Why don't edits made in the Mac app appear in the web app?
One of the great strengths of real-time collaboration is that the Mac app constantly saves any change you or your collaborators make in the document. All these changes are saved automatically on our servers, so you don’t need to manually save your document every time you make an edit in order for other collaborators to see these edits in the Mac app. However, it wouldn’t be helpful to show all these micro-changes as individual updates in the document’s timeline in the web app.
If you’ve made an important modification to a document and you want to share it as a document update for Viewers or other Editors, just hit ⌘+S (or head to File > Save in the menu). This new update will then appear as the latest version of the document in the timeline in the web app.
If you are seeing an older version of your document in the web app it might be because of a starred update. Learn more starred updates in our documentation.
Can’t find your answer?
Contact us and we’ll get back to you as soon as we can.