Skip Navigation

How do I manage Workspace members?

In your Workspace settings, you can add, remove or edit Workspace members. You can also make changes to the number of Editor seats. Workspace members can have two different roles:

  • Editors can register and use the Mac app with their Sketch Account to create, edit and upload documents. They count towards the cost of your subscription.
  • Viewers can only view and comment Workspace documents in the web app. You can have as many Viewers as you like in your Workspace for free.

You can also assign the Admin access to both Viewers or Editors. An Admin has rights to account management, such as billing details and inviting new people to the Workspace. We’ll automatically make the person who created your Workspace an Admin.

To get started, log into your Sketch Account and proceed to your Workspace (use the drop-down menu in the top-left corner to do this), then click on Workspace Settings at the bottom of the left sidebar.

How to Add New Members

In your Settings, select the General tab on the left, scroll down to the Members section, and click on the Invite Member button on the right.

You’ll see a window where you’ll need to enter the email address of the person you’d like to invite to your Workspace. You can choose if they’re an Editor or Viewer by using the drop-down menu, then clicking Invite. If they don’t have a Sketch Account yet, you can create one here.

After you’ve sent an invite, in the Members section of your Settings, you’ll see the person you’ve invited listed along with an Invite Pending badge next to their name. The pending status will remain until the person has accepted the invitation.

If you’ve created a Workspace, you’ll be an Editor and Admin by default. You can change your role to Viewer, but your subscription will cost the equivalent of one Editor at a minimum. As the Workspace’s creator, you cannot remove your admin rights.

How to Edit Workspace Members

To change a member’s role (Editor or Viewer) or admin rights, select the button next to their name and choose from the following options:

  • Upgrade to Editor… / Downgrade to Viewer… If this action has any impact on your subscription cost, we’ll let you know in the confirmation dialogue that appears.
  • Make Admin / Remove Admin Rights… This action happens instantly and does not impact your subscription cost.
  • Remove from Workspace… When you remove someone from your Workspace, all of their documents will remain in your shared Workspace.

If you upgrade a Workspace member’s role to Editor but don’t have empty Editor seats, we’ll add the seat and charge you on a pro rata basis up until your next billing cycle. If you downgrade an Editor to a Viewer, this will open up an empty Editor seat. This seat will remain open unless you remove it.

How to Add Editor Seats

When you add a new Editor or upgrade a Viewer, we’ll automatically add a new Editor seat and charge a pro rata fee for the remainder of your current billing cycle. We’ll charge you from the date the invite is sent to the member, not when they accept the invite. You can also add Editor seats separately at any time.

To add an Editor seat, select the General tab on the left, scroll down to the Editor Seats section and choose Add Editor Seats. Choose the number of seats you would like to add and confirm by clicking Pay and Add Seats. We’ll add the new seats instantly to your Workspace and charge you pro rata until the end of your billing cycle.

How to Schedule Editor Seat Changes

You can schedule to add or remove Editor seats at the start of your next billing cycle. Proceed to the Billing tab on the left of your Workspace’s settings and select Schedule Seat Changes.

In the modal that appears, choose the number of seats you would like at the start of your next billing cycle. You’ll be able to see how this affects your next billing cycle and whether or not it will change any members on your team. When you’re ready, select Schedule Editor Seat Changes to confirm.

Any scheduled changes you make to your Editor seats will override the current number of seats you have at the end of the current billing cycle. This will include any seats you add during that same billing cycle. If you want to cancel a scheduled Editor seat change, select the Cancel scheduled change? link that appears under the billing information.

What’s next?

Was this article useful?

We’re really sorry about that.
Please let us know what you were looking for:

If you need more help or you’d like to report a bug with this content, please contact support.

Thanks for your feedback.
An error occurred, please try again later.

Can’t find your answer?

Contact us and we’ll get back to you as soon as we can.

Documentation

Documentation

Learn more about how to use the powerful features that Sketch gives you in our documentation.

Manage your Workspace

Manage your Workspace

View your Workspace details, manage your members and more in your Workspace settings.

Changes to licenses

Changes to licenses

Starting April 2021, licenses are changing. Here’s everything you need to know.

Manage your license

Manage your license

Manage or recover Mac-only (SK3) license keys, add or remove devices, and access invoices.