Skip Navigation

Restricting edit rights for individual documents

By default, every Editor in your Workspace will automatically have editing permissions for any document you save to your Workspace.

You can change this for individual documents in the Sharing Settings tab of your Document settings menu in the web app. In the Manage Access section, use the drop-down menu next to your Workspace name to select the permissions you want for Editors in your Workspace, including the option to allow comments. Viewers will still have View and Inspect permissions unless you edit their permissions individually.

If you change this setting to View or Inspect, Editors won’t have permission to edit. You can then give specific Editors inside or outside your Workspace editing rights by inviting them via email and changing their permissions to Edit.

Alternatively, you can just remove edit permissions for specific people. Simply add their email addresses, and set their permissions to View or Inspect.

You can downgrade an Admin user’s permissions to View or Inspect if they don’t need or want to edit the document. However, Admins are the only people who can upgrade their own permissions from View or Inspect to Edit.

An image showing an Admin with View permissions in the Document Settings window

Note: If you are the author of a document and you downgrade your own permissions from Edit to Inspect or View using the Manage Access section, you will no longer be able to edit the document, or change your permissions. Your Workspace admin will need to upgrade your access to restore your editing permissions.

Last updated on 02 Aug 2021

Was this article useful?

We’re really sorry about that.
Please let us know what you were looking for:

If you need more help or you’d like to report a bug with this content, please contact support.

Thanks for your feedback.
An error occurred, please try again later.