Skip Navigation

Managing Share Settings

In the web app From your Workspace overview, click the Dots Cloud icon on your document’s thumbnail and choose Document Settings… .

Under the General tab, you’ll find information about the document and the option to set it as a Library.

In the Sharing tab, you can invite people outside of your Workspace to view, inspect or edit your document as Guests. You can also make the document accessible via a public link.

Note: Inviting people outside of your Workspace does not affect the cost of your subscription, but anyone you invite to Edit a document will need to be an Editor on another Workspace or have a subscription.

Share a document via email

Type the email address of the person you want to invite and choose the type of access you want to give them using the dropdown menu. If the person you’re inviting is already a Workspace member, an autocomplete option will let you quickly select their name. If you’re inviting someone from outside your Workspace, type the full email as normal. Click Add to send out an invitation email.

When you share a document with someone, you can choose from three different access levels:

  • View: View the document and leave comments in the web app only.
  • Inspect: View the document, inspect layers and Artboards for handoff and download assets in the web app only.
  • Edit: All of the above, as well as the option to open and edit the document in the Mac app. This access level requires a subscription.

Note: When you share a document with someone, it will appear in their Shared with Me tab.

When you’ve sent an invitation to a Guest, you’ll see an Invite Pending badge next to their email until they’ve accepted. Permanent Workspace members won’t have a badge, unless they’re an Admin. You can upgrade or downgrade anyone’s access level at any point and fully remove their access by opening the drop-down menu and choosing Remove….

Set an access level next to Anyone with a link. You can choose from View or Inspect. The default level is No access which makes the public link unavailable and keeps your document private.

Note: If you’re viewing an older update of a document in the web app, you can copy and paste its URL to link specifically to that version. The URL in the Document settings will always link to the most recent update.

When you choose an access level for anyone with a link or email invitation, you can show or hide comments on Artboards by toggling the checkbox in the dropdown menu.

An image showing the comments checkbox in the Document Settings window
Last updated on 02 Aug 2021

Was this article useful?

We’re really sorry about that.
Please let us know what you were looking for:

If you need more help or you’d like to report a bug with this content, please contact support.

Thanks for your feedback.
An error occurred, please try again later.