Skip Navigation

Organizing your Workspace

You can use projects to organize your Workspace documents by client, status or any other grouping that suits you or your team.

In the web app Projects appear in the sidebar. To only show documents that are part of a specific project, click the project’s name in the sidebar.

The All Documents option displays every document in your Workspace and My Drafts folder by default. To hide the documents that are already part of a project, you can deselect the Include documents in Projects checkbox in the Options menu of the Search field.

An image showing multiple projects in the web app’s sidebar

In the Mac app Projects appear in the sidebar of the Workspace window, organized by the Workspace they belong to.

How to create a project

In the web app Click on the + next to the Projects heading in the sidebar. Here, you can give your project a name (Emoji are supported, but not Markdown) and set your share settings. By default, all projects will be visible to all Workspace members unless you restrict the Workspace share settings to No Access. Hit to finish. You should now see your project in the sidebar ready to move documents into.

In the Mac app Click on the + icon next to the Workspace name in the sidebar of the Workspace window to add a project to that Workspace. Type a name for your project and press enter on your keyboard to confirm it. If you want to create projects with restricted access, you can do so in the web app.

How to move documents to projects

In the web app Drag the document you want to move and drop it onto its project folder in the sidebar. You can also hover over a document’s thumbnail and click on the Dots Cloud icon to bring up its options. From there, choose Move to Project. In the window that appears, select the project Group you want to move the document to from the drop-down menu then click Move.

In the Mac app From the Workspace window, drag a document to the project you want. You can drag and drop documents from the All Documents tab to any project in the sidebar or from a project to another project. You can also Control-click on a thumbnail and select “Move to Project…” to move documents around your Workspace.

Note: Only Admins can move documents between Workspaces.

How to move documents between Workspaces

Only Admins can move documents between Workspaces. They’ll also need to be an Admin or an Editor in the Workspace they are moving documents to.

To move a document to another Workspace, head to the web app. Hover over the document’s thumbnail you want to move to another Workspace and click on Dots Cloud. Click Move to Project…. In the window that appears, hover over the Other Workspaces tab and pick the Workspace and project where you want to move your document to. We’ll ask you whether you still want to keep sharing the document with everyone that was previously invited or not.

While you’ll still see expired Workspaces in the Other Workspaces tab, you won’t be able to move documents to those Workspaces until you activate them.

Note: You can’t move documents in My Drafts to another Workspace.

How to remove documents from projects

In the web app Hover over a document’s thumbnail and click on the Dots Cloud icon to bring up its options. From there, choose Remove from Project…. In the window that appears, click Remove to confirm. If you remove a document from a project, you’ll be able to find it in All Documents.

In the Mac app Control-click on a document’s thumbnail and click Remove from Project…, then click Remove to confirm. You’ll be able to find any document you’ve removed from a project in the All Documents tab.

How to rename projects

In the web app Hover over a project name in the sidebar or document’s thumbnail, then click on the Dots Cloud icon that appears next to it. From here, choose Rename. Give your project a new name, then press and hit to save. This won’t affect any documents inside this project.

In the Mac app Control-click on a project’s name in the sidebar of the Workspace window and choose Rename Project, type a new name and press enter on your keyboard to confirm.

How to delete projects

In the web app Hover over a project name in the sidebar or document’s thumbnail, then click on the Dots Cloud icon that appears next to it. From here, choose Delete. In the dialog that appears, click Delete to confirm. The project, along with its documents, will move to Trash — we’ll delete any project that has been in the Trash for 90 days, but up until that point you can easily restore them.

In the Mac app Control-click on a project’s name in the sidebar of the Workspace window and choose Delete Project…. In the confirmation dialog that appears, choose Delete Project to send the project and all its documents to the Trash — we’ll delete any project that has been in the Trash for 90 days, but up until that point, you can easily restore them.

Last updated on 31 May 2022

Was this article useful?

Thanks for your feedback.
An error occurred, please try again later.